RPSC Annual Meeting of Members

Minutes

Wednesday, December 9, 2020 6:00 pm Atlantic Time via ZOOM provided by the West Toronto Stamp Club.

1. Call to Order and Appointment of the Secretary

The President, Ed Kroft, called the meeting to order and appointed Jane Sodero Secretary for the meeting. The meeting was recorded through Zoom. It should be noted that 94 people attended some or all of the AGM.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 91st Annual Meeting of Members held Saturday, June 22, 2019 in Mississauga, Ontario

It was moved by Garfield Portch and seconded by Ken Lemke to approve the 2019 AGM Minutes. Motion carried.

3. Acknowledgement of Deceased Members (June 2019 to December 2020) and a Moment of Silence

The President read the names of RPSSC members who died between June 2019 to December 2020 and called for a moment of silence.

4. President's Report

Given the unusual situation in 2020, the President's Report was published prior to the AGM in The Canadian Philatelist as well as in the e-newsletter sent to all members.

The President spoke of the continuing efforts to advance interest in philately in Canada and beyond despite the limitations due to the COVID pandemic. Board meetings have continued through Zoom. The Society is more active on social media, e-newsletters are sent on a regular basis and a joint issue of The American Philatelist with American Philatelic Society on hockey is planned for the 2021. He thanked Robin Harris and Mike Walsh for their work on The Canadian Philatelist, the website and the e-newsletters.

The President announced the series of Zoom stamp talks and panels for 2021 put together by Joe Trauzzi noting that it is a way for people to gather from across Canada as well as outside Canada.

The President recognized the work of David McLaughlin, Charles Verge and the organizing committee of CAPEX for their work towards the Single Frame International Stamp Show planned for Toronto in 2022.

The President also acknowledged the work of current and past board members; Lee Ann Stewart at the RPSC National office; the executive of the Vincent Graves Greene Philatelic Research Foundation; and the staff of Trajan Media.

The President noted that the treasurer, Stuart Keeley, is stepping down at the end of 2020. He thanked him for his service to the RPSC and for helping with the transition to the new treasurer, John Sharp.

The President congratulated Charles Verge on being asked to sign the Roll of Distinguished Philatelists.

The President addressed the financial situation of the RPSC. As a non-profit society, it mainly relies on a federal grant and memberships dues. This year's application for charitable status was denied stating that the benefits are mainly for members and not the community at large.

The President raised four main areas of concern:

- 1) In 2021, The Canadian Philatelist will change to 4 paper issues with 2 additional issues available electronically. The size of the journal will be reduced from 64 to 48 pages. This decision came after long deliberation by the Board as well as a sub-committee which had been asked to consider a variety of options to cut costs. The Board continues to examine how to raise revenue and provide services without raising dues. The Board is seeking input from members who have experience with applying for public or private sector grants.
- 2) The RPSC is trying to expand its membership base. In the new year, the RPSC will be asking chapters to ask their members to become individual members of the RPSC.
- 3) The RPSC has traditionally not had a high profile in Quebec and it is seeking to promote the Society with collectors there.
- 4) There has been an increase in insurance premiums. This is due to an increased liability limit which was raised from \$2 million to \$5 million in 2020. The RPSC absorbed that increase for 2020 but it has been passed on to the chapters for 2021.

5. Treasurer's Report and Membership Statistics/ Financial Statements for Fiscal Year ending December 31, 2019

As with the President's Report, the 2019 financial statement was in The Canadian Philatelist and. The Treasurer pointed out that for the last 10 to 12 years we have been losing about 35 members per year so it very difficult to continue to break even. In addition, the federal Philaprint subsidy is likely to be significantly reduced.

Stuart Keeley moved the adoption of the Financial Statements for 2019. Seconded by Rob Lunn. Carried.

Stuart Keeley moved that Bruce Houser be appointed as the accountant for the 2020 year-end. Seconded by Rob Lunn. Carried.

6. Directors' and Officers' Reports as Requested by the President

The Directors' and Officers' Reports will be posted to the RPSC website.

Announcement of New RPSC 50-Year Club Members and Presentation of Honorary Life Memberships

For 2020, eight 50-Year-Club Members were recognized by the Society. Due to the pandemic, their certificates and lanyards have been mailed to them.

The new 50-Year-Club Members are:

- Joseph Caplan
- Ross D. Gray
- Lorne R. James
- Henry A. Pattiz
- Ray Simrak
- Keith R. Spencer, FRPSC
- Erling S. J. Van Dam
- William N. Wiles

8. Volunteers Programme and Recipients

The President thanked Michael Madesker, Rob Lunn and Garfield Portch for their work in putting together the volunteer recognition programme. The honourees for 2020 are:

RECIPIENT	CHAPTER
John Bucci	Edmonton Stamp Club
Fred Tauber	Edmonton Stamp Club
Jerry Kalyn	Ukrainian Philatelic and Numismatic Society
Ted Krupka	Barrie Stamp Club
Bruce Walter	Barrie Stamp Club
C. Leigh Hogg	Kitchener-Waterloo Philatelic Society
Jim Oliver	Kitchener-Waterloo Philatelic Society
Craig Pinchen	Kitchener-Waterloo Philatelic Society
Maureen Duplain	la Société philatélique de Québec
Dr. Donald Shorting	Vancouver Island Philatelic Society

9. Announcement of Retiring Board Members

The President thanked the two RPSC Board members who were retiring - Arlene Sullivan and Jim Taylor.

10. Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of the New Directors

Rob Lunn presented the report of the Nominating Committee. The following Board members were elected or re-elected to The RPSC Board for a two year term.

- Stéphane Cloutier (re-elected)
- Steve Johnson (elected)
- Ed Kroft (re-elected)
- Ken Lemke (elected)
- Jane Sodero (re-elected)
- Grégoire Teyssier (elected)
- Joe Trauzzi (elected)
- Joel Weiner (re-elected)

It was moved by Rob Lunn and seconded by Peter MacDonald to approve the report of the Nominating Committee. Carried.

11. Ratification of all Acts and Proceedings of the Board of Directors and Executive since last Annual Meeting

It was moved by Garfield Portch and seconded by Joe Trauzzi that all actions of the directors and officers of the Society from the last annual meeting of members to the date hereof, be and the same are hereby approved. Carried.

12. Other Business

The President noted that due to COVID, Royal 2021 Royale cannot be held in Peterborough as planned. The Society is trying to plan for a virtual show. At this time, the Board is trying to figure out the logistics of providing all of the components of a Royal-Royale show including: bourse; exhibits; the AGM; a Fellows meeting and speakers.

13. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 6:15 p.m. on Wednesday, December 9, 2020.